Studying Mummy's Net 11 Journey

February 17, 2010

Topic 3.3: Future Trends – Reflections on Readings

Filed under: Uncategorized — studyingmummy @ 8:18 pm

Our final module introduces the concept of the semantic web.  The article The Semantic Web by Berners-Lee, Hendler and Lassila illustrates the way in which the ideal Semantic Web will operate with various electronic and computerised items working in tandem to make our life easier and more streamlined.  A ringing phone, for instance, results in the volume control of the sound system and television being activated to create a quiet environment in which to take the call.  In essence the Semantic Web is a shift from a passive interface to an active tool, one that works to make our lives easier and simplified.  The Google Wave preview almost had me drooling in anticipation.  I absolutely love the interactiveness of the platform and the way it simplifies the use of many different programs/platforms by rolling them into one, I can’t wait to use Google Wave!

What Google Wave truly illustrates is the shift towards a system of universal management and interactivity.  We are becoming a more and more time poor society increasingly looking for ways to manage our affairs in the shortest possible time.  The ability of Google Wave to roll various programs into one with the capabilities of email, instant messaging, word processing, photo publishing and more is exactly what us time poor creatures seek in managing our online lives.  The interactivity of this one platform poses big questions about what the future may hold.  Exactly how interactive can our lives become?  Five years from now will my whole life be micro managed from my mobile phone? Today I already use my iphone to make voice calls, send text messages, check my email, social network, take photos, listen to music and publish information to the web.  Perhaps in time I’ll also be able to watch or record tv programs, channel surf and control the volume on my stereo all via the same simple device.  What really inspires me is the path technology may take in becoming intuitive to our personal preferences and needs.  The future, truly is, without boundaries and I am so excited to grow with this progress.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.